Food Freaks Unite's Blog

It's all about food!

Eggs Blackstone ~ Bad Habit Room September 5, 2014

Filed under: Breakfast/Brunch — Food Freaks Unite @ 4:20 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

It’s been a long time since my last post.  I’ve been super busy with a recent move and summer things that I have neglected my food blog.  I’m back and hungry so let’s start this up with brunch!  

I recently moved to the Overlook neighborhood in Portland and I’m walking distance to The Bad Habit Room which is an event space and brunch spot on the weekend.  The space is small but cozy and we didn’t have to wait for a table (unheard of in Portland).  The menu is limited but it has the basics for a good brunch.  Our drink order was just coffee which was lackluster.  Maybe an old pot?  Definitely not something I want to drink again though.  We both ordered the eggs blackstone, their version of the classic Benedict (my go-to all time favorite brunch order).  Their version has poached eggs, Saraveza bacon, roasted tomato & truffle jam on SugarPimp’s beer bread with hollandaise served with salt & pepper potatoes and greens.

Verdict? Delicious despite a couple problems.  The eggs were overcooked which defeats the purpose of eggs Benedict.  However, the flavors were great so that made up for the eggs (sort of).  The tomato and truffle jam made the dish in my opinion.  The bread was OK.  We thought maybe it was over toasted but after reading some reviews, it appears to be brought out that way.  If the eggs were runny then it might have helped with the bread.  The potatoes were great and I wished I had more.  I’ve never really understood salad served with breakfast/brunch so I skipped my greens but I was pretty full anyways.  

bad habit

I did mention to our server that our eggs were overdone and she apologized and offered their famous pop tart or a discount on the bill.  We took the pop tart (cinnamon and sugar flavor) and it was divine.  She wanted us to come back and try brunch again which we will.  I’m not giving up on a Bad Habit yet.

pop tart

 

Website: http://badhabitroom.com/

 

Leave a Reply

