Food Freaks Unite's Blog

It's all about food!

DIY Spice Rack January 3, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Food Freaks Unite @ 4:20 pm
Tags: ,

My cupboards are not set up to accommodate the amount of spices I own so what ends up happening is a bunch get thrown into baggies and I feel so disorganized trying to sift through all the numerous bags trying to find what I’m looking for (see below).  

Spice chaos

Spice chaos

I finally got fed up and started looking for a solution online and I couldn’t believe how much places were charging for spice racks that I could mount on the wall so I decided to make my own with some help from the bf.  He had some leftover magnetic sheet metal (below) but you can buy them at a hardware store for under $20 depending on the size.  

Old scraps of magnetic sheet metal

Old scraps of magnetic sheet metal

We decided to paint it but the bf wanted things precise so he drew a grid on where he wanted the spice tins positioned. I was going to just glue the magnets on the tins themselves but he wanted them on the sheet metal in case I wanted to use the tins for something else in the future.  Smart man. We glued the magnets and then spray painted the sheet metal (pics below).  Fyi, the tins were purchased online at http://www.specialtybottle.com/metalcontainers.aspx.  Note the clear tops, although pretty, will not be good for the spices especially if it is exposed to light.  I also purchased the screw top lids in case a tin happened to fall from the board.  You need powerful rare earth magnets which can be purchased cheap online (Amazon) or Harbor Freight stores but they were sold out of them when we went there.  

Grid for the magnets

Grid for the magnets

 

Spray paint complete

Spray paint complete

The last step was mounting them to the wall (simple heavy-duty velcro) and then labeling them and cutting them to size to fit each container.  Super easy and now I feel organized and cooking just seems so much easier to do now.  Yay! 

Test mount before adding labels and spices

Test mount before adding labels and spices

 

Final product

Final product

 

 

Leave a Reply

