Food Freaks Unite's Blog

It's all about food!

Halloween Zombie Food November 15, 2012

Filed under: Food,My Favs — Food Freaks Unite @ 4:20 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Ok, so I know Halloween has passed but I wanted to share this great idea I made for my zombie work party.   Yes, that’s right,  a zombie W-O-R-K party.  My job can be so much fun sometimes that I can’t believe I get paid to do some of these things.  My “pièce de résistance” was the stuffed intestines.  It was the first thing gone and everyone had great things to say about it or wanted to know how to make it.   It’s a little time consuming but well worth the effort with the future accolades you will no doubt receive.  For this particular size I used 3 full puff pastry shells so adjust accordingly.  You can pick a savory or sweet filling but for this one I picked Costco’s spinach and artichoke dip because it was thick and wouldn’t run too much.

Before:

Before entering the oven

What you will need:

  • Ready made puff pastry
  • Filling of your choice
  • Flour for dusting
  • Egg wash for finishing
  • Rolling pin
  • Pizza cutter
  • Pastry brush
  • Red and blue food coloring
  • Tooth pick

I read a couple intestine recipes and I did a mini dry run on it because I didn’t want to mess up on the big day.  This is how I did it and it’s way simpler than the other recipes I’ve found on the internet.

  1. Follow instructions on defrosting the puff pastry.  I left mine in the fridge over night.  Take one sheet out at a time and refrigerate the other half until you are ready to use it.  It is already perforated in 3 sections so make those cuts and use your rolling pin on a floured surface to make each third thinner.  Tip: roll outwards twice then rotate 1/4 turn and keep rotating so you it isn’t rolled only in one direction.  You shouldn’t need to do it more than 3-4 rotations because it needs to be thick enough to hold the filling and be easily manipulated without tearing through.
  2. Get your filling out and spoon a little down the middle of your rectangle.  It is super easy to put too much in and you will know this once you try to pinch the ends closed.  It’s trial and error and if you are smart like me, you’ll learn fast and minimize the over flow 🙂
  3. To assemble the roll, all I did was take each end and pinch them closed (I didn’t use an egg wash like other recipes called for) and I put the pinched end down on the pan so don’t worry if it’s ugly because the seams won’t show anyways.  Other recipes linked every section together in one long strand but if you don’t have the luxury of 10 ft long counters then do what I did and link each section by pinching them together.  After filling each pastry sheet, lay them down on the pan and start shaping them into an intestine.
  4. Once they are all connected you can put the blood on which is the fun part.  Get several drops of red food coloring and one to two drops of blue mixed together and use a tooth pick to make the markings.  Here is the important part: put your completed intestines back in the fridge until it is firm again.  This is necessary for it to puff so don’t skip this step otherwise you will be disappointed with the end result.
  5. Make sure your oven is at least 400 to 425 degrees.  Many of the recipes called for 375 and this simply didn’t work out for me in my trial run.  It was soggy even after 20 plus minutes.  I’ve worked with puff pastry in the past and I’ve never had it lower than 400.  The oven I used was older and the temperature wasn’t accurate so I had mine at 425 and cooked it for 25 minutes.  I would check it at 20 minutes and take it out once it’s golden brown on top.  I forgot the egg wash and it still turned out nicely so it’s up to you.  It will be shinier if you do it but no biggie if you don’t.

After:

Zombie intestines

 

One Response to “Halloween Zombie Food”

  1. […] recipe is adapted from Canary Girl, Food Freaks Unite and Little Ferraro […]


Leave a Reply

