Food Freaks Unite's Blog

It's all about food!

Easy Appetizer Alert! Bacon Wrapped Dates! November 2, 2012

Filed under: Food,My Favs,Recipe — Food Freaks Unite @ 4:20 pm
Tags: , , ,

Bomb!

I enjoy baking but occasionally I like to cook.  It’s a rare thing but I have my moments of brilliance and actually more often than not I can make a pretty tasty dish.  I’ve always been curious about the bacon wrapped date appetizers I’ve seen offered at various restaurants but until recently wasn’t eating meat so it took a while to try this dish.  My friends absolutely went nuts for them and raved about how amazing they were so when I finally got my hands on them I understood what all the fuss was about.  They are nuggets of sweet and salty heaven that disappear once they hit the table.  You can stuff them with various ingredients and I had the controversial one stuffed with fois gras which I just had to try once in my life so try not to give me too much grief.  I will say that I was rendered speechless but I’m sure I was making noises that expressed how delicious they were.  They are normally between $2-$3 a pop and they seem super easy to make so I decided to make them on America’s birthday, the 4th of July.

I went all crazy and stuffed a few with pork rillette (salted pork cooked in its own fat) and others stuffed with cheese.  They were both so yummy yet easy to make.  You can put them together ahead of time and then bake them off later.  This dish will surely impress your guests and you will no doubt be asked to make it again.

Ingredients:

  • Medjool dates (pitted)
  • Bacon sliced in half (thinner cut the better)
  • Toothpicks (soaked in water)
  • Anything you can imagine to stuff inside or leave plain.

Preheat oven 375 degrees (you can go higher in temp, just check on it sooner).

Pit the dates and stuff with whatever you fancy.  Try different cheeses like manchego, cream cheese, blue cheese, parmesan or goat cheese.  Add nuts for crunch like pistachio or almonds.  Be crazy like me and add more meat like the rillette or chorizo.  Stab them with a toothpick and bake until done.  I baked mine for 15-20 min on each side until they were nice and crispy.

Bacon wrapped dates at Toro Bravo

 

Leave a Reply

