Food Freaks Unite's Blog

It's all about food!

Recipe Review ~ Pioneer Woman’s Blackberry Cobbler June 20, 2012

Ok I love cobbler.  Love love love cobbler! There is something so simple and wonderful about it and I will gravitate to it every time it’s listed on a dessert menu.  Everyone has their own version and tweaks the recipes to make it their own so no one cobbler really is ever the same.  I’ve tested several out, changed a few things and I’ve got my all time favorite one (which I might share one day) but this one was pretty good and since it’s easy to make I thought I would share it. 

I first saw this recipe on the Food Network Channel’s show Pioneer Woman.  Ree Drummond (the Pioneer Woman) had a super easy blackberry cobbler recipe she was going to share so I was hooked after the word cobbler.  My channel surfing ended to watch the remainder of her show.  She does say it is more like a “cake” than a traditional cobbler but I still think it’s great. 

Here is the recipe as written on the Food Network Channel.  My advice tips will be in bold.

Ingredients

  • 1 stick butter (1/2 cup), melted, plus more for greasing pan
  • 1 and 1/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons sugar (One cup plus more for sprinkling on top but this is way too much for this recipe)
  • 1 cup self-rising flour (If you only have all-purpose flour just add 1 & 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt and combine together)
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 2 cups fresh (or frozen) blackberries
  • Whipped cream and/or ice cream, for serving

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 3-quart baking dish with butter. Definitely over grease the pan to ensure the cobbler doesn’t stick to it. 

In a medium bowl, whisk 1 cup sugar with the flour and milk. Whisk in the melted butter.

Rinse the blackberries and pat them dry. Make sure they are really dry or the cobbler might be too “wet” Pour the batter into the baking dish. Sprinkle the blackberries evenly over the top of the batter. Sprinkle 1/4 cup sugar over the blackberries. I found this to be way too much sugar and might cut back a bit next time I make it but do generously cover the top of it and it should be enough.  Bake until golden brown and bubbly, about 1 hour (It will probably be done well before that so start checking at 40 min). When 10 minutes of the cooking time remains, sprinkle the remaining 2 tablespoons sugar over the top.  Not necessary at all!  It won’t melt into a nice crust so you’ll be left with whole sugar crystals on the cobbler (see my photo).  Top with whipped cream or ice cream . . . or both!

Overall, an easy cake-y cobbler dish that I will make again and again.  Best if eaten the same day as it gets more cake-y and wet the longer it sits. 

 

Leave a Reply

