Food Freaks Unite's Blog

It's all about food!

Hot Nuts in NYC February 3, 2012

Filed under: Buy this!,Cheap Eats!,Food,My Favs — Food Freaks Unite @ 4:20 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Mmmmm nuts

 
Anyone who knows me is fully aware of my love for nuts.  I admit, the word “nut” when talked about in reference to food will still make me giggle.  My friends find it juvenile but I can’t help it.  It’s just funny to me and I can’t believe I haven’t written about it sooner.  My love for tasty nuts grew astronomically during a recent trip to New York City.  Who knew Nyc was nut central?  Well, you know what I mean, the food kind.  You hear about the hot dog carts and such but the unexpected star of the carts was the travelling nuts around town.  Now some were better than others but all were served warm and roasted in a sugary coating.  I ate a bag everyday I was there and found a place that will ship it to me once their website is fully revamped.  Yay!!
 
The smell of the nuts will get you immediately and I fell for the intoxicating smell while in line waiting to get a ferry ride to see the Statue of Liberty.  I walked a bit closer and loved what I saw…piles of nuts ready to be eaten and more getting a coating of toffee flavoring.  For $3 I got a bag of mixed nuts (cashews, almonds and peanuts) which were amazing.  Loved every bite and they came in handy later in the day while waiting for subways and in between meals.  A must eat treat while in New York.  Just look around and you’ll find one but more than likely you’ll smell it first.  Oh I miss Nyc. 

Nut cart to Liberty

 

Leave a Reply

