Food Freaks Unite's Blog

It's all about food!

My latest obsession…Food carts August 14, 2010

There is a food cart revolution happening in Portland Oregon.  Why I love these carts so much is the owners really care about the food they are producing and everything is made to order!   This isn’t fast food, it is food fast.  Carts are popping up everywhere there is space and although I may never get a chance to eat  at each one, I love the fact that I have so many choices around me. 

My go to spot for lunch is the Native Bowl in the Mississippi Neighborhood in North Portland. This cart is vegan only but don’t let that scare you away.  I probably shouldn’t share this bit of information but you can call your order ahead of time (503-330-7616) and forego the wait that can be upwards of 15 minutes on a busy sunny day.  The first time I went there, I ordered the Couch Bowl. (In Portland, we pronounce that Cooch” I don’t know why, we just do).  I always get the small bowl which comes in a Chinese take out box.  I’ve never tried anything else just because I simply LOVE this dish. 

So what’s in the bowl? Grilled tofu, sesame bean sprouts, Kochujang sweet and spicy sauce, jasmine rice, organic lettuce, carrots, scallions and toasted sesame seeds. It is mildly spicy and packed with flavor. The moment you open the box you will be intoxicated with the aroma. It is unbelievable! I’ve brought other people who’ve ordered different things and they said their meal was just as good.

Location: Food carts on the corner of Mississippi and Skidmore

Cost: $6

 

Leave a Reply

