Food Freaks Unite's Blog

It's all about food!

Breakfast At Toast June 6, 2013

Rain Man and Sun King

Rain Man and Sun King

Thank you to Amber for telling me about this little known yet in many ways unknown spot in SE Portland.  Prepare for a wait during the weekend because it’s a busy place which only means one thing…great food!  Now, I’m not sure what I was thinking when I ordered 2 kinds of potatoes during my first visit there but I was hungry and after 20 minutes of waiting I felt I could eat it all.  Yes I failed at that but I got to eat my first rosti there, a classic Swiss potato dish, and anyone that knows me can tell you that I just love potatoes in all forms so I was super excited to have it prepared in a different way than the normal hash variety.  I ordered the Rain Man and Sun King ($10.50) which had sautéed vegetables (served Al dente) with greens and roasted potato hash topped with poached egg finished with aged balsamic and Parmesan cheese.  Super delicious! The service was great and the wait staff are very friendly so you always feel welcome when you come in.  They are now serving dinner a few times a week so I’m looking forward to trying that out too!

P.S. I heard their bloody marys are quite tasty if you like them!  My friends enjoyed them but I’m not big on tomato juice so I didn’t try it.

Location: 5222 SE 52nd Ave, Portland Oregon 97206 or try their food cart Yolk at 4804 SE Woodstock Blvd, Portland, OR 97206

Website: http://toastpdx.com/

Toast on Urbanspoon

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers