Food Freaks Unite's Blog

It's all about food!

Pine State Biscuits August 17, 2012

Really? Yes, really.

My childhood recollection of biscuits consist of my mom pulling out a yellow Bisquick box from the fridge and whipping up a batch and on “special nights” I got them as a side dish with a bucket of chicken from KFC.  I thought they were great until I ate one from Popeye’s and then my biscuit world turned upside down.  Yeah that’s right, I said Popeye’s.  I have no shame in confessing that because I still think they have the best biscuits from a fast food place.  But sometimes I want a homemade kind of biscuit so for that I go to Pine State which has 2 locations in Portland on Belmont and Alberta St.

My first Pine State experience happened to be while I wasn’t eating meat so I opted for a biscuit with egg and cheese.  At that time, there were only two food items on my meat kryptonite list and those happened to be fried chicken and bacon. So guess what Pine State has as their star signature biscuit-wich? It’s called the Reggie Deluxe (pictured above) It is a biscuit filled with fried chicken, bacon, a fried egg and cheese then topped with gravy. Utter ridiculousness.  The regular Reggie has no egg but it makes no sense that you wouldn’t just add it if you’re going to eat all those calories anyways.  I was half tempted to order one in my weakened state of exposure to a double dose of meat kryptonite but I knew my stomach going on 10 years of meatlessness would put up a protest and I’d pay a terrible price afterwards so I stayed away from the Reggie.  I already knew how amazing it was gonna be just by the description alone.

The biscuits range in price from $4 for a basic egg and cheese all the way up to $8 for the Reggie Deluxe.  They also offer hashes and several Southern sides to choose from.  I would definitely recommend their fried green tomatoes.  They don’t offer a whole lot of seating and the wait time can be long during their busy times but no one seems to care much because it’s completely expected.

I guess I should mention they were featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives with Guy Fieri since my out-of-town friends like me to point out places that have been featured on The Food Network or The Travel Channel.

Website: http://pinestatebiscuits.com/

Locations: 3640 SE Belmont Portland Oregon 503.236.3346

2204 NE Alberta St Portland Oregon 503.477.6605

Cost: Biscuit with Egg and Cheese $4/Hash Browns $2.50

Pine State Biscuits on Urbanspoon

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers