Food Freaks Unite's Blog

It's all about food!

Pastry Perfection ~ Petite Provence June 6, 2012

Oh la la

Boulangerie: the French word for bakery

I spent 3 short but glorious days in Paris in the late 1990′s and I can still remember every pastry and dessert I ate there.  I began my mornings at the boulangerie next to my hotel and ordered something called a l’orangerie which is a flaky and buttery croissant-like pastry with apricot halves baked in and finished off with sprinkles of French pearl sugar. 

I’ve been searching for something similar to the l’orangerie but nothing I tried was memorable enough to make me want to go back for more until I walked into Petite Provence.  My experience with French bakeries in Portland have been so-so.  Nothing has blown my mind or has come close to the taste of the croissants and other pastries I ate in Paris so I wasn’t expecting anything more from this place.  Don’t get me wrong, they were tasty but I wouldn’t make a special trip out there to buy anything more if I had the craving.  However, the apricot croissant at Petite Provence caught my eye and as I began to eat it I was transported back to Paris circa 1999, sitting on a bench outside the local boulangerie in a food trance.  

Their flaky layers of croissant pastry envelopes a light custard filling with apricot halves on each end and becomes something out of this world delicious. I’ve been longing for something like this for decades and it is the closest thing I’ve found to pastry bliss since Paris.  I am happy I don’t have to travel far to enjoy it either as Petite Provence is conveniently located close to my work and another location is on the route I travel to go home.  They also have a bistro menu serving  breakfast, lunch and dinner items which I have yet to try but I am planning on it soon. Check their website below for more information. 

The picture above is their strawberry flower. 

Website: http://provencepdx.com/

Locations: 4 locations (so far) in Oregon 

Petite Provence on Urbanspoon

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers