Food Freaks Unite's Blog

It's all about food!

Top Pot Doughnuts ~ A Sweet Seattle Spot September 10, 2011

I’ve lost track of the number of times I’ve channel surfed and inevitably landed on the Travel Channel because they were showcasing food from around the country.  I have watched hour-long shows about hamburger joints and rib pits even though I don’t eat meat.  I’m still transfixed with interest because I can still appreciate the quality and deliciousness of the dish even though I choose not to eat it.   However, on this particular day, the Travel Channel focused their attention on my sweet tooth and featured the all mighty doughnut.  This is how Top Pot Doughnuts in Seattle Washington landed on my radar screen and why I’m sitting here writing about a place that is 172 miles away. 

Top Pot prides itself on their attention to detail with how they craft their doughnuts using only quality ingredients and making them the old-fashioned way.  It is a process that any foodie will appreciate especially if it is truly done right because the proof will be in how good it actually tastes.  I was convinced after watching the little blurb about them and I couldn’t wait to try one for myself. 

It was the fall of 2009 when I made my first Top Pot stop and the smell was so intoxicating that it made an already tough decision choosing a flavor even more difficult.  Why my brain is unable to think straight when making certain food decisions is beyond me.  I think I just pointed at something pink so I wouldn’t hold up the line and ended up with a raspberry glazed old-fashioned.   The doughnut is a moist cake consistency on the inside with a slight crunch on the outside. The best part is that it wasn’t overly sweet like some other doughnut shops that were featured on that show. I’m sorry Voodoo Doughnuts (Portland’s local king of doughnuts) but they have you guys beat.  I never thought too much sugar was a bad thing but I realized it was one fateful night during a 2am Voodoo run.  Never again!  Top Pot is tops for me and proves that kitschy toppings,  funny names or phallic shapes for doughnuts are not needed to make a statement and leave a lasting impression on people.   Top Pot makes a pretty amazing doughnut and I wouldn’t be surprised if there was crack in it because I was itching to get my hands on more right after I finished eating it. 

I should have bought more. 

I should have bought a dozen.  

Obamarama even made it over there!  And I’m pretty sure he hasn’t made it over to Voodoo yet…

Location: Several locations – see website for details

Website: http://www.toppotdoughnuts.com/

Cost: ? It’s worth whatever they are charging

Top Pot Doughnuts (Capitol Hill) on Urbanspoon

Mmmm doughnuts....

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers