Food Freaks Unite's Blog

It's all about food!

My First Lamington ~ Pacific Pie Company July 29, 2011

Filed under: Dessert,Food — Food Freaks Unite @ 4:20 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

 

Lamington: A traditional Australian dessert in the shape of a cube.  Made of sponge cake that is coated with chocolate icing then sprinkled with coconut.  An optional filling of  jam or cream can be in between the layers of sponge cake. 

I consider myself a dessert aficionado but I’ve never even heard of these cakes before the fine folks at Pacific Pie Company brought these to my attention and expanded my dessert portfolio.  I’m already a  huge fan of their savory and sweet pasties and pies so when the staff told me about their upcoming Australian Day specials, I came back the next day to try them out.

I have to say I really liked this cake.  I saved half of it for the next day and ended up eating it for breakfast with my coffee which complimented perfectly with the cake.  Why did I only eat half you might ask?  Anyone who knows me can attest that I rarely leave any leftovers where dessert is concerned but this time I went all Miss Piggy and bought a peanut butter pie too.  But back to the lamington…I would have personally wanted more jam filling but overall, it was a good dessert that I’m glad I got the chance to try.  It isn’t overly sweet so I’d probably eat it again for a breakfast snack rather than something to satisfy my sweet tooth.  For that, I would get their dreamy creamy peanut butter pie.  I’ve tried to only eat half of that pie but I have yet to be successful.  Yes, it’s just that good. 

Location: 1520 SE 7th Portland Oregon 503-381-6157

Website: www.pacificpieco.com

Cost: $3.50 if they keep it on their regular menu otherwise come back on Australia Day (January 26th)
Pacific Pie Company on Urbanspoon

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers