Food Freaks Unite's Blog

It's all about food!

In Search Of A Holy Cannoli Moment ~ Peruvian Style June 20, 2011

Filed under: Dessert,Food,My Favs — Food Freaks Unite @ 4:20 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Holy Cannoli!

My Mission: Try to find cannoli in Portland Oregon
 
Why?: My reasons are two-fold: The first being cannoli is generally difficult to find so it is a small victory in and of itself when I get a chance to actually eat one.  Secondly, they are just so freaking awesome!
 
Traditional Cannoli: A Sicilian dessert of tube-shaped shells of fried dough which is then filled with a sweet creamy mixture containing ricotta cheese. The ends can be left plain or dipped in pistachio (my preference) or chocolate chips. 
 
Cannoli is one of my favorite desserts so if I see it offered on a menu I will order it.  I can find a great version of it ~with a twist~ at  Andina, a Peruvian restaurant in the Pearl District of Portland Oregon.  This is one of my favorite places to eat because it offers interesting drinks, meals and tapas made with many ingredients I have never heard of.  I learned early on to always save room for dessert because they have a great selection to choose from and they do it so well.  I’ve tried almost all of them and I do prefer some over others but I liked each one I’ve tried.  The first dessert I ever ordered there was the cannoli. I was floored to see it on their menu.  Cannoli at a Peruvian restaurant? Say what? I don’t really expect to find it in most Italian restaurants much less a Peruvian one.  I was intrigued from the start and was not disappointed with this dessert.  Andina makes their version with a crisp quinoa studded shell filled with passionfruit mousse and serves it with a  mango-lemongrass sorbet and caramel.  OHH MYY MYY GOODNESS GOOD.  It is pretty spectacular and a great finish to any meal. It’s almost too pretty to eat…almost. 
 
Location: 1314 NW Glisan Portland Oregon
Cost: $7.50
 
  Andina on Urbanspoon
 

2 Responses to “In Search Of A Holy Cannoli Moment ~ Peruvian Style”

  1. TJ Says:

    I’d be curious to see how you like Holy Cannoli, a food cart at SE Foster Rd & SE 52nd serving, among other things, cannolis! I had the amaretto one and was pleasantly pleased with the crust, filling, and price ($2!).

  2. Hey thanks for the suggestion! I was looking for a place to eat today and I might just swing on over there and check it out. $2 for a cannoli? That’s a steal.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers