Food Freaks Unite's Blog

It's all about food!

Vietnamese Crispy Crepe March 9, 2011

Filed under: Dinner,Food,Lunch,My Favs — Food Freaks Unite @ 4:20 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Sometimes you discover a dish because a passing waiter brings it to a nearby table and the sight, smell or sizzling sound of it makes you change your order immediately.  The Vietnamese crispy crepe or Banh Xeo was that dish for me.  The sheer size of the greens and crepe itself will attract onlookers.  I’ve tried this at a couple of spots but my favorite place to get this is at Pho Van.  They offer more greens and fillers than other places so I never leave feeling hungry. 

The super thin crepe is made of rice flour with a hint of turmeric and stuffed with shrimp or pork.  I ask them for tofu and they usually fill it with a half block (way too much for me but I appreciate how much they offer).  There is also mung beans, bean sprouts and onions with the option of adding cilantro, basil and lettuce off to the side.  Fantastic!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Location: 1919 Southeast 82nd Avenue Portland Oregon but there are additional locations around town. 

Cost: $8.25

Pho Van on Urbanspoon

 

4 Responses to “Vietnamese Crispy Crepe”

  1. It was a very nice idea! Just want to say thank you for the information you have shared. Just continue writing this kind of post. I will be your loyal reader. Thanks again.

  2. Unusual Says:

    I enjoyed reading this a lot…

    I really hope to read more of your posts in the future, so I’ve bookmarked your blog. But I couldn’t just bookmark it, oh no.. When I see quality website’s like this one, I like to share it with others So I’ve created a backlink to your site (from …

  3. ho ho ho! Santa likes your blog a lot! Keep up the great work

  4. it was very interesting to read. I want to quote your post in my blog. It can? And you et an account on Twitter?


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers